Ashley’s CBR III Review #156: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

CBR III Review #156: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern 

I wish I could simply review this novel with two words: “simply magical”.  No two other words I think could better define the story that surrounds The Night Circus.  I’ll warn you that once you read it you will be extremely sad that The Night Circus is not real.  Summit Entertainment has bought the rights to the movie and if they can bring this film to life I’ll be ecstatic.

Le Cirque des Rêves arrives without warning and is only open from dawn to twilight.  The whole circus revolves around a black and white theme but the acts, talents, and tents bring all the color that is needed. Imagine a tent filled with what looks like clouds that allows one to bounce to and from them. Or a tent with mirrors upon mirrors but each one shows a different scene. Or a tent with magicians so phenomenal that they make you want to believe in magic.

Unbeknownst to circus goers and to the majority of the circus performers the circus has a more sinister origin.  It was created so that two magicians could compete against one another in a deadly magical battle.  Celia and Marco have entered this deadly battle where neither one of them fully understood the consequences. It is unknown what will happen to the circus and everyone they love that performs within it once one the magicians lose.  Celia and Marco decide to try and find a way to fight for themselves and the circus.

The Night Circus has a structure that takes a bit of getting use to.  The point of view jumps between several characters and between several time periods, but once you become immersed in the story line it no longer matters.  It wouldn’t make sense for the book to be laid out on a liner time line, I think it would have detracted from the over all sense of magic that the book alludes.  I highly recommend The Night Circus.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday; First Edition edition (September 13, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385534639
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385534635
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.4 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (584 customer reviews)
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Ashley’s CBR III Review #156: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. scootsa1000

    Wow — I’ve been reading nothing but great things about this one. Moving it to the top of my list for CBR-IV.
    Have you actually completed a TRIPLE cannonball? Congratulations. Quite an accomplishment!

  2. The atmosphere created in this novel just can not be topped. It did take ma few chapters to get as entranced as everyone else but once I figured out the structure I was hooked. I have officially completed 156 books for 2011! I will never attempt anything that crazy again. I think I’ll stick to 52 next year.

  3. Pingback: Simply magical « Night Circus Reviews

  4. I loooved this book. LOVED.

  5. I am in awe of your achievement. Frankly, in 2010 I actually managed to READ 158 books, but I would never have been able to blog all of them. Just blogging 104 nearly exhausted me. It certainly made it feel like quite a slog. A normal Cannonball will be just fine in 2012, thank you very much. :)

Leave a Reply

