Fofo’s CBRIII Review #15 – The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Target: Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind

Profile: Epic Fantasy

I’m deeply suspicious of books that receive universal praise.  The NYT Bestseller list has burned me more often than not, (I’m looking at you Dan Brown) and there’s something unsettling to me about taking book recommendations from anyone.  Readingis a very personal sort of thing and even my very good friends have proven to be less than perfect in their reading suggestions.  So when no fewer than six people recommended The Name of the Wind to me, I was understandably cautious.  After literally hours scanning the Amazon reviews, blogs and podcasts, I decided that it might be worth the risk.  And it was.  I don’t think it’s the second coming of Tolkien that many claim it to be, but I haven’t read a more compelling classic fantasy in a very long time.

Read the rest of the review

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Fofo’s CBRIII Review #15 – The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. Am I the only one who keeps flashing back to Marguerite Henry every time they see the title of this book?

  2. Jules

    Am I the only one who thinks Kvothe was a complete Mary Sue?

  3. Whoa… comments. Wierdness.

    Trust me when I say Patrick Rothfuss is not Marguerite Henry. Although I loved Misty when I was kid.

    Kvothe as Mary Sue is hard to answer. Yes, he’s undeniably awesome, but he also gets his ass handed to him repeatedly and we already know that his story ‘ends’ with him running away and hiding in an inn in the middle of nowhere. And he does have a really glaring flaw that’s been plaguing dramatic characters since the Greeks: an unhealthy does of Hubris. I’m not sure about book two, but as of the end of book one, the battles he’s won, vs the battles hes lost or narrowly avoided fighting… he’s not exactly on a winning streak.

Leave a Reply

