Fyrehaar’s CBR-III Read #2 – The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. Snarky Fantasy.

The Colour of Magic is the first Discworld novel. It is a send up of fantasy, a genre ripe for mocking.  The heroes are a wizard who failed out of magic school and a tourist from the other side of the world, which is a disc that rests on the back of four elephants who are riding on a celestial turtle.

Rincewind, the wizard, is tasked with showing Twoflower, the tourist, around the continent. Twoflower is the first tourist from his side of the world to visit the main continent. He is extremely naive as to the culture on the continent he is visiting.  Most of the hijinks that ensue do so because of his ignorance and polly annaish nature.

Absurdism abounds and is quite diverting. Eventually it became distracting.  The satire is forced and relies heavily on puns. The tourist, Twoflower,  brings modern day concepts into the story but they are sometimes hidden behind impenetrable veils of punnery. It just broke the frame. In the end the point was the absurdism rather than the plot, which in the end meant absolutely nothing. Definitely not escapist fantasy. This book was so self aware that it is hard to get into.

-fh

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Fyrehaar’s CBR-III Read #2 – The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

  1. dsbs42

    If I remember correctly, I really did not enjoy this book. It wasn’t until I read The Light Fantastic that I started to understand why his fans are so…loud.

    Also, thank you for being on review number 2.

  2. Interesting. I know so many people who are rabid about Pratchett. I don’t know if I will get there but thanks for the heads up.

    And yeah, review #2 in May, FTW!

  3. dsbs42

    I’ve read quite a few since, and I never feel like I’ve wasted my time, but I do find them very up and down. I still remember Light Fantastic as being one of my favourites, though.

    Cheers to being in single digits!

  4. Pingback: Sinnh’s CBR-III Review #3 – The Sparrow | Cannonball Read III

  5. THANK YOU. Thank you for defining there in your third paragraph what it was that I disliked so strongly about this book. I read it and couldn’t figure out why I felt so vaguely hostile when everyone was telling me I should love this book.

    I’ve agreed to try further Pratchett to pacify my friends, but if it’s all like this, I’m not sure I can manage.

    Great review, and keep going!

  6. Thanks Siege! I only read it because so many friends are just like “Prachett Prachett Prachett!” I may take dsbs42’s advice and skip to The Light Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

