Tara’s CBR-III Review #20: The Dark Tower by Stephen King (The Dark Tower series #7)

Series: The Dark Tower Book VII
Cannonball Read III: Book #20/52
Published: 2004
Pages: 1072 (9,551 total so far)
Genre: Fantasy/Adventure

I finally finished the series! It was a little rocky in some parts, but am I glad I finished? Yes. Will I ever read this series again? Probably not. I’m going to review the final book first, then do a brief review of the entire series as a whole.

So, I was not a huge fan of the last couple books in this series. However, the final book in The Dark Tower series was what I wished the entire series had been. It flowed well and King didn’t go off on hundred page tangents that had little to do with the central story. With each book, I just wanted Roland and his group to continue their journey to the Dark Tower without taking detours that took up entire books, such as the whole fighting with the wolves in The Wolves of the Calla or Rolands 600 page backstory. They covered more ground in this final book than I think half the other books combined.

Read the full review at my blog!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

