Krista’s CBR-III Review #32 – These Things Hidden, Heather Gudenkauf

I kept walking past this in Target and finally I bought it for my nook. And then I didn’t have time to read it because TOO MANY BOOKS and FULL TIME JOB and TOO MANY OTHER COMMITMENTS don’t sit well together. I finished it last week, and I’ve got to say, I really enjoyed it. It actually has a lot of flaws, but regardless I was left intrigued.

Plot summary: Allison has just been released from prison after serving five years for a horrific murder. Her younger sister Brynn has been left to deal with the aftermath of Allison’s crime. Claire loves her son Joshua, who was adopted before he was one month, fiercely, and Charm struggles with feelings that she can’t contain regarding Joshua. This book is the intersection of the stories of these four women and how Joshua fits into it all.

I found the various women to be compelling to one degree or another throughout the novel. I especially liked Allison, even at the end of the story. Each of them evoked strong emotion in me. And here’s the rest of what worked, and what didn’t.

— Krista

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

