leedock’s CBR-III Review #18-“Life as We Knew It”, #19-“The Dead & the Gone”, #20-“This World We Live In” – Susan Beth Pfeffer

This trilogy is one of the winners in the mostly crap pile that resulted from my binge shopping at a recently closed local Borders. The premise sounds like the plot line from one of those SyFy (I can’t even type that without cringing. What were they thinking?) made for cable B movies, but bear with me. A meteor hits the moon, knocking it out of its normal orbit and closer to the earth. Very close-tsunamis in Manhattan, earthquakes in Iowa and random volcanic eruptions-close. The aftermath is seen mostly through the eyes of teenage protagonists as they struggle with their families to survive insane weather changes, dwindling food supplies, intermittent electricity, sickness and fear.

I think my fascination for these stories lies in what I fear to be my complete inability to deal with catastrophic disaster. Perhaps I think I will pick up some tips here? First sign of anything going wonky, head to the grocery store and buy lots and lots of canned goods. And tampons. And toilet paper. And batteries. See, I have learned something.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “leedock’s CBR-III Review #18-“Life as We Knew It”, #19-“The Dead & the Gone”, #20-“This World We Live In” – Susan Beth Pfeffer

  1. scootsa1000

    I read these as they came out and thought they were pretty good (well, the first two were. didn’t much care for the third). glad to see them getting some love!

  2. I really enjoyed this series when I read them last year, they are very very bleak though.

Leave a Reply

