xoxoxoe, #21, A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, #CBR3

Check out my review of A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness on BlogHer, in the BlogHer book club.

An excerpt from my review:

It’s pretty bad when the most likable character in a book that is supposed to be a mystical love story between a powerful witch and an enigmatic vampire is a house. An enchanted witch’s house. But the house seems to have more going on emotionally than the annoying heroine, Diana Bishop, of A Discovery of Witches, debut novel by history scholar Deborah Harkness.”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “xoxoxoe, #21, A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, #CBR3

  1. It’s like you’re in my brain! You described my experience of reading this book to a tee. The endless descriptions (don’t forget her yoga! and horseback reading! oh, and all the books they sat around and read in his CASTLE. I mean seriously, he has a castle) were ridiculous. And I just assumed, by its nearly 600 page length, that this was just one book. Nope! And about the only scene with any action, when the other witches show up at the castle, gets like 30 pages. Her eating habits get about 40% of the book, but a witch showdown? Not worth her time, apparently. Anyways, all this to say, great review, you captured everything about this book perfectly.

  2. Thanks! This book is getting so many great reviews I was starting to think I was going crazy and had a joke copy. I couldn’t believe the PAGES devoted to her eating habits – I blocked the yoga. And there are supposed to be 2 more books – not n my house. Horseback “reading” would have been an improvement ; )

  3. Pingback: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness « Blackbird Books

Leave a Reply

