sevenstories’ CBR-III Review #33: My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Anabel Pitcher

There has been a fair amount of buzz about Annabel Pitchers debut novel but after reading it, I have to say I think it lives up to it. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece is the story of 10 year old Jamie and his family. His sister, Rose, was killed by a terrorist bomb in London 5 years ago and it has broken his family apart. His Mum has had an affair and left and his Dad is an alcoholic who is obsessed with Rose’s ashes that sit on the eponymous mantelpiece. Rose’s twin sister, Jasmine, has stopped eating and dyed her hair pink. My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece is an excellent young adult novel with some very appealing central characters and plenty of thought-provoking content for teenagers.

The full review is on my blog here: http://acaseforbooks.blogspot.com/2011/07/review-33-my-sister-lives-on.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

