llp’s CBR III Review 15: Confessions of a Prairie Bitch: How I Survived Nellie Oleson and Learned to Love Being Hated, by Alison Arngrim


I was led to this book by a review I first found through CBR III, although I can’t seem to find the review (and the ensuing discussion in comments) – I am certain it was a review of Melissa Gilbert’s biography. So, thank you, fellow CBR III participant, for the recommendation! This was a funny, heartbreaking, utterly charming book – highly recommended!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “llp’s CBR III Review 15: Confessions of a Prairie Bitch: How I Survived Nellie Oleson and Learned to Love Being Hated, by Alison Arngrim

  1. scootsa1000

    It was me! It was me!

    So glad someone else jumped on the Nellie Oleson bandwagon. I really enjoyed her book and hope she finds the time to write something else in the future.

    I saw an old episode of the X Files on Netflix the other night, and Allison’s brother Stefan was playing a bit part on it. I got so mad, I couldn’t even finish the episode. My husband was very confused, but when I explained my distaste, he totally got it and we forwarded past all of his scenes.

  2. When I first got the book, I looked him up on IMDB, but then checked again last night before I posted the review to make sure I was thinking of the right character. All pictures of him have been removed. I hope he is feeling some heat, and all the Vancouver productions quit hiring him.

    You were exactly right about the book. I got it on interlibrary loan, just before the Canada Post strike. It couldn’t be returned until after the strike was over, so it got passed around amongst the staff during the strike; everyone really loved it. Thank you for the recommendation!

  3. And of course, it was Rob Lowe’s book that started the ball rolling. That explains why I couldn’t find the link, sigh. It always comes back to me too late.

  4. mswas

    I am reading this one right now from scootsa1000’s recommendation! should be done soon – loving it11

Leave a Reply

