Ashley’s CBR III Review #80: Fate (My Blood Approves, Book 2) by Amanda Hocking

CBR III Review #80: Fate (My Blood Approves, Book 2) by Amanda Hocking

This is the second novel in the My Blood Approves series and I hate Alice even more than I did when I read the first novel.  There are two more novels in the series, but I just give up.  At this point I think Alice may have less of a personality then Bella (Twilight).  I enjoyed some of Amanda Hocking’s novels because even if the stories were ridiculous she is able to write a strong female lead. To make matters worse the male characters are just as dull and lifeless as the female characters in Fate.  The love triangle is ridiculous because simply both boys are immature and insanely selfish.  Isn’t the whole point of falling in love with a supernatural immortal teenager is they don’t act like a typical teenager? If my vampire boyfriend wanted to sit around and play guitar hero all night long I would be finding a new supernatural species to stalk.

If you didn’t read my first review then I can catch you up on some of the plot points.  Alice meets a mysterious stranger that saves her life (kinda I’m not sure she was ever in danger) and cue dramatic music…he is a ::gasp vampire::  In My Blood Approves Alice is torn between Jack and his brother.  She really likes Jack but she is drawn to Peter.  In the second installment , Fate, Alice is trying to balance her human live with her supernatural friends and does a fairly shitty job of it.  Apparently once you have a supernatural boyfriend you no longer need friends or need to go to school.  Learning is so overrated if you are planning on being turned into a vampire.

If you are going to write a Twilight rip off at least make the character interesting! Bella and Edward were the dullest teenagers to ever be created and Amanda Hocking has manged to create teens with even more tedious personalities.  Who knew that was possible?

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 347 KB
  • Print Length: 332 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1453816720
  • Publisher: Createspace; Second Edition edition (March 17, 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003HGGHTW
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

