Mrs Smith Reads The Beginners by Rebecca Wolff, CBR-3 #21

I don’t read YA fiction at all, so when I started The Beginners and realized the protagonist was a fifteen year old girl, I was a little skeptical that I would enjoy it at all. I was wrong in so many ways. Firstly, this book is not even remotely safe for a real fifteen year old (though I suspect many girls that age will read this book) and secondly, this novel is well-crafted and suffused with lyrical passages that fully complement the drowsy, languid tale of Ginger Pritt, her best friend Cherry and what happens when a bewitching couple, Raquel and Theo Motherwell, move to Wick, their sleepy New England town.

The Beginners by Rebecca Wolff

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

