denesteake’s CBR III #13, 14 and 15: Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

I bought the Chaos Walking Trilogy on impulse because I wanted to have something fun to read before I dive back into my not-so-fun Cambodian history books. I might have mentioned this before, but I do enjoy good young adult literature a lot, and I was hoping that Chaos Walking could be a worthy successor to His Dark Materials. It’s not, but not by any faults of Patrick Ness, the author. Ness’ trilogy is very, very good, and incredibly effective. However, I do wonder if the reason why my heart is so resolutely set on His Dark Materials as BEST YA BOOKS EVER is because I read them when I was 12 going on 13, and right around the time when I could most identify with Lyra and Will. The two young protagonists of Chaos Walking, Todd Hewit and Viola Eade, are really great characters, but there were times throughout this series that I thought, “Wow, I just don’t get them.”

Anyway, I am going to review these three books altogether. I’ll try not to post spoilers for each book in their section, but be aware that there will be spoilers on the previous books.

Read the rest of my review here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

