xoxoxoe, #40, On Writing, by Stephen King, #CBR3

Here is an excerpt from my review of my #40 book, On Writing, by Stephen King, on my blog, xoxoxo e:

Whether you consider yourself an aspiring writer or not, Stephen King’s On Writing — A Memoir of the Craft is an engaging read. It is part autobiography, part instruction manual, but mostly a writer talking about his love of writing and how intrinsic a part of his life his writing has always been.

As he outlines what he thinks all writers should do  devote hours every day to their craft (his daily quota is 2000 words, but that might be difficult for those of us with day jobs), read, read, and read some more (he doesn’t watch much television and reads a lot), and not worry too much about the critics:

“I spent a good many years since  too many, I  think – being ashamed about what I write. I think I was forty before I realized that almost every writer of fiction and poetry who has ever published a line has been accused by someone of wasting his or her God-given talent. If you write (or paint or dance or sculpt or sing, I suppose), someone will try to make you feel lousy about it, that’s all.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “xoxoxoe, #40, On Writing, by Stephen King, #CBR3

  1. scootsa1000

    I am going to see Stephen King speak next week at a book event, and I won a ticket to a meet & greet/book signing afterward. I’ve been thinking and thinking about which book for him to sign…now you’ve convinced me that he should sign my worn out copy of On Writing. Thanks for reminding me about the greatness of this one.

Leave a Reply

