xoxoxoe, #41 and #42, The Secret of the Crooked Cat, and Alfred Hitchcock’s Supernatural Tales of Terror and Suspense, #CBR3

Here is an excerpt from my reviews of my #41 and #42 books, The Secret of the Crooked Cat, and Alfred Hitchcock’s Supernatural Tales of Terror and Suspense, on my blog, xoxoxo e:

On a recent trip to the local library with my daughter I was browsing the teen section while she was picking out books and DVDs, and ran across a blast from my past, The Secret of the Crooked Cat.

When I was 8 my dad gave me my first Nancy Drew (The Spider Sapphire Mystery), and I sped through them, mostly through the local library or our bookmobile in the summertime, which is also where I discovered a few years later the Alfred Hitchcock and the Three Investigators series.

Similar in style to Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys, the illustrated mysteries follow three teenage boys as the solve mysteries, mostly with a supernatural angle. I didn’t realize it at the time I was reading them as a kid, but the plots share a lot of similarities to Scooby Doo. As I breezed through The Secret of the Crooked Cat there was even a line at the end,

“The robber snarled, ‘Go to the devil, Carson! All of you! I’d have gotten away except for those stupid kids!'”

Oh well. Not exactly high literature, but they were fun to read (and re-visit). I liked the hero, Jupiter Jones, and his friends, who were basically a bunch of misfits who happened to be super smart. Talk about revenge of the nerds.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

