Scootsa1000’s CBR-III Review #31: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I have a thing for pop culture and trivia. I love having useless bits of information stored away in my brain, ready to be suddenly useful at a moment’s notice. I even used my knowledge to get on Jeopardy (and *humblebrag* win a few times). But then I had three kids, and didn’t find my ability to instantly name all 8 Bradford kids on Eight is Enough quite so useful. But it did help me to keep up when watching shows with clever dialogue like Veronica Mars or The Gilmore Girls (watched all 7 seasons in a row on dvd in the middle of the night when kid #3 was a newborn), or reading books like The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, and getting more references than anyone else in my book club (actually, not much of an accomplishment). So it was with great joy that I stumbled upon Ready Player One at the library recently, and am here to tell all of you pop culture children of the 80s, that this is a book you must run out and read RIGHT NOW.

Read my review of Ready Player One here.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Scootsa1000’s CBR-III Review #31: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. What a coincidence, I am reading this book RIGHT NOW! I’m only about 100 pages in but am really enjoying it. Glad to hear it doesn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

