Tara’s CBR-III Review #35: Blood Mountain by J.T. Warren


Cannonball Read III: Book #35/52
Published: 2011
Pages: n/a – (Kindle book – couldn’t find pages)
Genre: Horror

I bought this book for two reasons. One, it was cheap ($2.99). Two, it was described as “for fans of Jack Ketchum and Jack Kilborn”. I love Ketchum and Kilborn, so I figured it was worth a try.

Blood Mountain follows a recent college graduate named Mercy as she and her father try to bond on a hiking trip up Blood Mountain. Unfortunately for them, a crazy guy named Victor has been stalking Mercy and follows them up the mountain. Sounds interesting, right?

Well, it could have been better. It wasn’t awful, but it definitely wasn’t up to par with Ketchum or Konrath. Mercy wasn’t likable at all until the end. She loves to read serial killer novels and sympathize with the victims. She is a completely pathetic heroine who mopes around and constructs fantasies about every young male who comes across her path. This is probably more of a personal opinion than a criticism of the author, but I want a horror novel heroine who is strong and independent – not Bella from Twilight.

Read the rest of my review in my blog!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s