sevenstories’ CBR-III Review #48: An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro

Story: As meandering and confusing as I have to expect, and love, from Ishiguro.  
Protagonist: Not as empathetic as some of his other protagonists, Ishiguro leaves us guessing as to Ono’s real motives.
Writing: Beautiful and unique but very much in the Ishiguro style.

A thought-provoking and beautifully written novel very much in the Ishiguro style. To my mind, not his best novel but still leaps and bounds ahead of the majority of novels I’ve read this year.
I’m trying a new format for my reviews so they’re not so wordy and impenetrable and it’s easier to see what I thought and jump to or avoid bits of the review that interest you or don’t. It’s actually ended up longer but hopefully is easier to read, so let me know what you think or if you prefer the more traditional format…
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “sevenstories’ CBR-III Review #48: An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro

  1. That’s actually a really good idea for review formatting. Sometimes I have trouble deciding where to start my thoughts or include certain opinions, I may have to adopt this style myself. Really great review, too. I’ve only read Never Let Me Go, and loved it; I need to check out more of his work.

  2. sevenstories

    Glad you liked it. I really like the review format on foreveryoungadult but didn’t want to copy it completely as its pretty unique (http://www.foreveryoungadult.com/book-report-grading/) but made me think I should probably start breaking my reviews up as mine can get a bit unstructured and meandering and it also gives me some structure as I often write reviews then realise I’ve missed something out or struggle to know where to start.

  3. sevenstories

    Just reread some Forever Young Adult reviews and their grading system is so awesome, I totally wish I’d thought of it.

Leave a Reply

