Electric Lit No.6, Girls to the Front, Fathermucker, Q (Sara Habein’s reviews #38-41)

Well, well, well, haven’t I been neglectful in updating here?

I have many an update over at Glorified Love Letters.

#38: Electric Literature No.6
Stories from Matt Sumell, Mary Otis, Marc Basch, Steve Edwards, and Nathan Englander

After absolutely loving No.5, I had high hopes going into the latest volume of Electric Literature. Perhaps too high, as no ongoing literary magazine is going to be loved by a specific reader every single time. No.6 links together five stories of quiet resignation and detached violence, and though I found the stories and characters interesting enough to keep going, they did not stay with me. They’re perfectly fine, well-written stories, but their complications were not the sort of complications I typically enjoy. […]

#39: Girls to the Front: The True Story of the Riot Grrrl Revolution
by Sara Marcus

Wholly defining riot grrrls into a couple of neat sentences cannot easily encompass both the origins and the destinations of the young women who participated. However, in Girls to the Front, Sara Marcus has crafted a rather well-rounded history that captures both the idealism and the problems of this “second wave” of feminism.

#40 Fathermucker
by Greg Olear

Fathermucker is a quick-but-satisfying read, and certainly one with which less-uptight parents will identify. The question of “Is Stacy having an affair?” propels us to the very end, and it goes for self-deprecation over melodramatics. Olear makes us consider the definitions of honesty and identity within our day-to-day life, and I am officially a fan.

#41: Q
by Evan Mandery

I read it while on vacation, and for airplane/hotel reading, it’s a worthy distraction. Yes, it’s a bit heavy-handed with the symbolism, but part of me suspects that it’s done in a farcical way. Not being able to tell was annoying, even though I wanted to keep reading. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this book. Was I more patient with its faults because I was on vacation?

That’s it for now. Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

