CBR III Review #108: Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel

CBR III Review #108:  Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel

I grew up reading Lurlene McDaniel Books when I was in middle school.  I have no idea why I liked them someone always died and they were depressing as hell, but I think I read every single one there ever was.  I went to get a pedicure and someone had left this novel behind. I eagerly picked it up and was finished with it before my toe nail polish dried, but I’m sure the women at the spa were a little curious why I was trying to hold back tears.  Damn Lurlene McDaniel.  McDaniel’s writing style hasn’t changed much from when I use to read her in middle school so I wouldn’t suggest she is an author a grown adult should revisit (like Christopher Pike).

Breathless follows Travis Morrison a champion diver who is diagnosed with bone cancer.  The novel switched between him, his sister, his best friend and his girlfriend as they all try and come to terms with his diagnosis.  There isn’t really much else to say. It’s a depressing read. If you have ever read one of her books before you know well beforehand there is not going to be a happy ending.  The only real difference between this and the other novels I remember reading as a child is McDaniel approaches the controversial questions of when one should stop trying to prolong their life because the quality of life is no longer there.  It took me less than an hour to read so if you happen to run across it and want to remember a bit of childhood go for it, but unless you are in the mood to depress yourself you can skip it.

Product Details

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 165 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (May 12, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 038573459X
  • ASIN: B005HKP1YS
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 4.5 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

