Ashley’s CBR III Review #110: Prized (The Birthmarked Trilogy) by Caragh M. O’Brien

CBR III Review #110: Prized  (The Birthmarked Trilogy) by Caragh M. O’Brien

Birthmarked was one of my favorite books I read last year.  I couldn’t wait to read the sequel.  It was a book I always remembered to check out on Amazon to see when the release date had been published. With all the trilogies coming out recently this is saying a lot.  I know I lean towards the dystopian genre, but one of the only books I felt that has topped it in recently memory (other than The Hunger Games) was Veronica Roth’s Divergent.  In Birthmarked, protagonist Gaia flees the tyrannical Enclave with her baby sister and very few supplies.  Gaia ventures into the Wasteland only to be captured by the people of Sylum, a society that is also severely strict but in this case is ruled by women.  I don’t feel like I’m setting up the novel too well but I don’t want to give out the ending to the first novel.

I felt Prized was a weird sequel, except for two of the main characters nothing from the stories really overlap.  I feel like it could have been a completely separate novel. It looks like all the resolution that I craved will be solved in the third book of the trilogy when the two societies converge.

Gaia’s is a wonderful role model and protagonist.  She is smart, stubborn, and thoughtful and fiercely loyal and even though I wasn’t thrilled about the second novel it was still a fun read and I was glad to spend a bit more time with her as a character.

Product Details

  • Reading level: Ages 12 and up
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Roaring Brook Press (November 8, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1596435704
  • ISBN-13: 978-1596435704
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.8 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

