Even Stevens’s CBR-III review #29 – Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me by Chelsea’s Family, Friends and Other Victims

WordPress informed me that I had just posted my 46th post, although it was my 47th book. Upon doing a little research, I found that somehow I never published my 29th review, so here it is, a little late.

Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me by Chelsea’s Family, Friends and Other Victims (book #29)

Chelsea Handler tends to be a divisive figure; people generally love her or hate her. I started out as a lover, most because I always heartily endorse sarcasm and she’s got it in spades. After watching her show for awhile, I realized that I actually really enjoyed her round table guests and their interactions with her more than I actually enjoyed Chelsea herself. Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me only reinforces that feeling.

For those of you who aren’t familiar, Handler is a late night talk show persona who has basically made a name for herself by being loud, brash, and blunt. She also really, really enjoys practical jokes. She has a slew of people who work on her show that also regularly appear as guests on the round table, commenting on events and people in the pop culture world. These people are the ones writing the book (plus a few family and friends from outside the show) and each story is a tale of how Chelsea duped them in some way. I’m still a little ambivalent about how I felt about this book. On the one hand, a lot of the shenanigans are very, very funny. On the other hand, some seem to cross the line into downright mean territory. Not often, but enough that I found myself feeling sorry for the person involved, when I knew the reaction they were going for was laughter. Each person insists that Chelsea is actually very loyal and generous and always has her friends’ backs. This may very well be true, but it’s hard to see that in a book that details her pranks.

There is a lot of funny material in here, and more than once I found myself impressed with her creative plans and her commitment to sticking with them. I’ve read all her previous books and really enjoyed them (My Horizontal Life being my favorite) and while this one was enjoyable, I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as any of the ones that came before it. In the end, I’d say if you’re already a Chelsea Handler fan, then I don’t think you’ll be disappointed here. If you haven’t been exposed to her yet and are considering reading her stuff, I’d start with My Horizontal Life and work your way up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

