Ashley’s CBR III Review #127: What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman

CBR III Review #127: What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman

I’m so far behind on my reviews I don’t remember reading this book.  The cover looks familiar.  Damn.

Okay I read the description on Amazon and I remember the plot….kinda. A woman gets into an car accident and she flees the scene.  The police find her and take her to the hospital for her injuries but she refuses to tell anyone who she is.  After some prodding she claims she is a kidnap victim from 30 years ago.   The story begins thirty years prior when two sisters disappear from a shopping mall.  They were never seen again and no bodies were ever found…that is until the present day when this woman claims to be one of the missing sisters.

I remember I loved the premise of the novel but the execution fell a bit flat.  There was a lot of shifting between characters point of view and a lot of jumping around on the time line.  At times I had a hard time remember which character I was currently reading and what year it was suppose to be.  I wish I had more to say on the book but it kinda fell flat.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow; 1ST edition (March 13, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061128856
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061128851
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.1 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

