Ashley’s CBR III Review #140: Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

CBR III Review #140: Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson

I picked up this book because I loved the movie Memento and this book follows the same type of premise.  Every day Christine wakes up not knowing where she is or even how old she is.  She is jolted when she looks in the mirror expecting a 20 something young woman looking back at her and encounters a woman well into middle age. Every morning her new life is a mystery to her and her husband Ben explains what happened to her and who she is and who he is.  However, Christine starts to keep a journal of her every day activities and starts to realize that her husband isn’t always telling her the truth.

This started off with great promise and having the mystery unravel was lots of fun to read.  I thought it would become repetitive because of Christine’s illness, but I didn’t find that to be the case.  My only gripe was “the big reveal” and how it came about seemed incredibly impossible…but I read zombie novels.  I would say I really enjoyed the novel up until the last chapter or so, but I don’t hold it against the novel too much.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; First Edition edition (June 14, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062060554
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062060556
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.3 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment